Tour Of Duty

Tour Of Duty

About Tour Of Duty

(1987-1990, CBS)

By the mid-1980s, there had been TV shows set during the Civil War, World War II and the Korean Conflict, but never the Vietnam War. That changed with Tour Of Duty.

Set in 1967-1968, this episodic drama tells the story of an ethnically diverse infantry platoon struggling to stay alive in-country. Platoon members include Sgt. Zeke Anderson (Terence Knox), Lt. Myron Goldman (Stephen Caffrey), Pvt. Roger Horn (Joshua Maurer), Pvt. Doc Matsuda (Steve Akahoshi), Cpl. Danny Percell (Tony Becker), Pvt. Scott Baker (Eric Bruskotter), Sgt. Marvin Johnson (Stan Foster), Pvt. Alberto Ruiz (Ramon Franco), Pvt. Marcus Taylor (Miguel A. Nunez Jr.) and Capt. Rusty Wallace (Kevin Conroy).

In season two, the series shifts to the Tan Son Nhut Air Base near Saigon and introduces new cast members, including reporter Alex Devlin (Kim Delaney), Dr. Jennifer Seymour (Betsy Brantley) and Lt. John McKay (Dan Gauthier). Season three brings the action back to the field with past and future stars in recurring roles, including Lee Majors, Carl Weathers and Kyle Chandler.

Despite two Emmy nominations and critical praise for its mingling of history and fictional drama, Tour Of Duty struggled to find an audience. It was cancelled after three seasons but remains well-remembered today.

Notable guest stars:

Angela Bassett, Ving Rhames, David Alan Grier, William Sadler, Tia Carrere, Malcolm-Jamal Warner, Tamlyn Tomita, Olivia d’Abo, James Hong, Kelly Hu, Melora Hardin, Everett McGill, Rosalind Chao, Pamela Gidley

Created by L. Travis Clark and Steve Duncan.



Terence Knox, Stephen Caffrey, Tony Becker, Miguel A. Núñez Jr., Ramón Franco, jJoshua Maurer, Eric Bruskotter, Stan Foster, Kevin Conroy, Dan Gauthier, Kim Delaney, Lee Majors, Carl Weathers, Kyle Chandler, John Dye, Patrick Kilpatrick


Reynaldo Villalobos